Two preliminary words to say about Sinister, and that is ‘loved it’. This was a great film and one that I did not hold out much for, but that doesn’t detract from what I’ve just said. The film had me gripped from the beginning, with my senses heightened and the fear factor activated inside me!

From the opening scenes I knew this film was going to deliver, and would fulfill all the prerequisites of a horror film: to frighten, bring our most vivid nightmares to fruition, create terror and cause shock and panic. This dark film delivered from scene to scene as the suspense and questions we build up in the back of my minds. I had hairs standing up on the back of my neck and my arms at certain points.

So if you’re in the mood to be horrified, or looking for an excuse into jumping into the lap of the person you fancy and get close to, then you must see this film. If you’re faint hearted, have a heart condition or get easily frightened, then this perhaps isn’t the film for you to watch. I hear they have some animated films showing at the cinema at the moment, and you may find these more suited.

